Posted by: krusty505 | July 6, 2011

Core Values

The other day Natalie suggested I write some more about my physical ailments and how I’m trying to rehabilitate myself. I reread “Down But Not Out” and realized that quite a bit has changed since that post. Most importantly, I’m really running again, albeit not at the level I was running last fall and winter when I ran a 1:35 half marathon. For example, then I could run 400 meter repeats at 1:34. Just this week I ran them at 1:39. While this might not sound like a big difference, trust me it is! Maybe this example will drive it home a little more. Last winter my 3 mile tempo pace was a 7:12 mile. This morning, as part of a 6 mile run, I ran a 3 mile tempo effort at 7:30, and it almost killed me to do it. Never the less, I’m feeling significantly better, and sharing what I’m doing to rehab, I hope, may help out a few other people.

I’m still seeing the ART (active release technique) doctor. I think this has done a lot to help me out. He just seems to find the right spots that are tender, and through some VERY painful manipulations, he is able to release them. I think I have a ways to go with ART, but I’m headed in the right direction. For those of you who might be interested, here is there website:

http://www.activerelease.com/

The doctor listed as a provider in Albuquerque is good from what I hear, but he’s not who I’m seeing. If you are interested in contact info. from me, let me know, and I’ll give you his info. He’s a good guy and an athlete, which I think sets him apart from providers who aren’t athletes. No offense to them, but having someone who understands my desires and goals is critical.

I’m also seeing a physical therapist once a week. Here is what we’ve been able to glean over the last 3-4 weeks: I have a muscle imbalance between my left and right side especially in my upper glute, no surprise there. The bigger finding, however, is that I don’t engage my true core enough in my daily life or in my exercise life. Like many people, when I think of “core,” I think of six pack abs, but true core muscles are deeper. They’re the ones that Pilates instructors are always encouraging their students to use. I suck at this, so I’ve been doing exercises that help “remind” me to actually use these very important muscles. Aside from the ART, I think doing these exercises on a daily basis is really helping to rehab my back. I mean honestly, doing a 7:30 mile for 3 miles ain’t a 7:12, but it ain’t that far off either. At least it’s on the horizon.

Finally, I’m practicing “yoga” again. I do a routine that takes me about 30 minutes at least twice a week. I think it’s really important to put my body through a range of motion. I also try really hard not to make this “hero yoga.” I don’t push myself too intensely; I just try to make it restorative. I’ve also fallen in love again with ice especially on my knee. I pretty much ice for at least 20 minutes after every run.

If you’re interested in discussing all of this further in regards to your own pain or mine, I’m always interested in what other have done or are doing to abate, manage, or eliminate pain.

Responses

  1. The thing that changed my running form was a book called ‘The Chi of Running’. I think there’s a workshop coming to ABQ in the next month or so. It’s been around long enough you could probably get it at the library!
    Good luck!

  2. First, I love the title, very witty. Second, I think broad, low-cost, and non-invasive rehab and therapy is a wise choice. Having an openness to experimentation is smart.

    Finally, I don’t know about the rest of you readers (except Brain) but I can’t hold 7:12 OR 7:30 for more than a mile, so I think your rehab is going pretty well!

    • Yeah, fast for me is a 9:30, just sayin’


Leave a Reply

Categories

